Skip to Content



MARC graduate Lea Colchado was awarded a 2022 CCCC Gloria Anzaldúa Rhetorician Award. Colchado is one of three recipients of this award.
MARC graduate Lea Colchado was awarded the Jeanette Morgan Endowment for Excellence in Research and Teaching of Rhetoric and Composition by the University of Houston’s English Department. The award is in recognition of Lea’s upcoming Conference on College Composition and Communication presentation on Anzaldúan modes of writing and Chicana epistemology in academia. 
MARC graduate Lea Colchado published two poems "La Tierra Y La Tejana" which will be published in the journal The Thing Itself; "Tejanita" which will be published in the anthology Asina Is How We Talk and she will be doing an audio recording of this poem in September in San Antonio. 
MARC graduate Lea Colchado has accepted a full ride offer to the University of Houston's PhD program in Literature, Rhetoric and Composition, and Pedagogy. She will begin this fall. Congrats Lea! 
MARC student Elisa Serrano has been accepted into Penn State University’s PhD program in Curriculum and Instruction and awarded a research assistantship. Congrats Elisa!
MARC student Delaina Bailey has been accepted into Texas Tech University’s PhD program in Rhetoric and Technical Communication with an emphasis in Rhetoric, Composition, and Technology. She will begin this fall after graduating this summer. Congrats Delaina!
MARC student Corina Dominguez published the short story "Concealed Gift" in Texas State's Literary and Arts Magazine, Persona.  
MARC student Ana B. Freeman published her first short story "The Science Teacher's Daughter" in Electric Literature
MARC student Sam Garcia is the 2019 recipient of the Outstanding Graduate Student in English. Congratulations!
MARC graduate Tiffany Rainey is the 2019 recipient of The Graduate College's Outstanding Master's Thesis Award in the Social Sciences, Education, and Business. Her thesis, "Her Own Voice: Coming Out in Academia with Bipolar Disorder," was directed by Dr. Rebecca Jackson. Congratulations, Tiffany!
MARC students Cruz Barajas, Lea Colchado and Samuel Garcia received IEF scholarships for the Texas State in Ireland Study Abroad Program.
MARC student Sarah Piercy was awarded the 2018-19 International Scholarship. She was recently awarded the Graduate College Scholarship for 2019-20 as well as the Leonard and Elizabeth Wright Scholarship for Future Teachers.
Graduated MARC student Jose Cano has been accepted to TCU's PhD Program in Rhetoric and Writing with a full ride Scholarship. Congratulations Jose!
MARC graduate Alexis (Lexi) McGee completed her PhD at the University of Texas San Antonio and has accepted a tenure-track assistant professor position in the Department of English: Composition, Rhetoric, and English Studies program at the University of Central Florida.
MARC student Arun Raman has been awarded the Mary-Agnes Taylor Scholarship, and MARC graduate assistant, Megann Kramer, has been awarded the Thomas L. Brasher endowment scholarship for the 2018-2019 academic year.
Dr. Rebecca Jackson (with co-authors Dr. Jackie Grutsch McKinney and Dr. Nicole Caswell) has won the 2017 IWCA Best Book Award for her publication, The Working Lives of New Writing Center Directors.
MARC graduate Manny Pina has been accepted into the PhD program in Technical Communication and Rhetoric at Texas Tech University. 

2016 MARC graduate Edward Santos Garza has accepted a position as a Rhetoric Assessment Affiliate for the University of Texas at Austin's OnRamps Program, which brings rigorous, dual enrollment writing courses to thousands of students in underprivileged high schools across the state.

2016 MARC graduate Kristin Milligan successfully defended her thesis in July and has accepted the position of Associate Director of the Learning Center at East Central College in Union, Missouri. 

2016 MARC graduate Clare Murray successfully defended her thesis, "Being Right or Doing Right? Employing Virtue Theory in Response to Religious Student Discourse in First-Year Writing," in the spring and has accepted a lecturer position in Rhetoric and Composition at St. Edward's University. 

2016 MARC graduate Edward Garza successfully defended his thesis, "The Public Pochx: Rhetorics of American-Born Latinxs," in the spring and has also accepted a lecturer position in Rhetoric and Composition at St. Edward's University. 

MARC student Andrew Booth has been awarded the Ralph and Francys Houston scholarship for the 2016-2017 academic year. MARC Graduate Assistant, Shane Teague, has been awarded the Ione Dodson Young scholarship for the 2016-2017 academic year. 

Dr. Octavio Pimentel has won the 2016 Conference on College Composition and Communication's Technical and Scientific Communication Award in the category of Best Original Collection of Essays in Technical or Scientific Communication for Communicating Race, Ethnicity, and Identity in Technical Communication. 

Dr. Rebecca Jackson was named an Alpha Chi "Favorite Professor" in 2014, 2015, and 2019.

Dr. Octavio Pimentel has been named the faculty recipient of Texas State’s Excellence in Diversity Award.

Dr. Octavio Pimentel and MATC director Dr. Miriam Williams' coedited collection, Communicating Race, Ethnicity, and Identity in Technical Communication, was awarded "2016 Best Book in Technical or Scientific Communication" by the National Council of Teachers of English.